When You Rise Up

One Book I think every parent should read is When You Rise Up: A Covenantal Approach to Homeschooling  by R.C. Sproul, Jr.  More than a book on home education;this is a treatise on Biblical parenting.  Sproul cuts away at our modern ideas of education and child rearing to get back at the true nature of Scriptural family ~ what God really intended from the beginning.  Then he insists we make it a reality in our homes now.

We start with the Bible and go from there, learning evermore of who God is, of what He has done, and what He requires of us.

This is one of the most thoughtful books on home education I have ever read.  I read each paragraph over and over, chewing the ideas in my mind carefully, digesting what the author was saying.  He discusses the difference between my home and the outside world; between teaching my sons and teaching my daughter; between curriculum and learning.  He answers objections to home education and problems we home educators face daily. 

The strongest reason to read this book is to re-ignite your passion to rear your children for God.  This author has that.  I don’t want to lose it.

One thought on “When You Rise Up

  1. I found that book a few years ago, bought it and read it, and it remains on our bookshelf as a good encouragement. It’s a short, easy, but inspiring read.

    Like

What do you think?